Mumbai Monorail

Mumbai Monorail

Mumbai Monorail is aimed at providing a support system to the existing Mumbai commute system. The first phase of Mumbai Monorail will start from Jacob Circle to Wadala, which is a 12 km long track covering 11 stations. The second phase of this line will initiate from Wadala to Chembur, which is a 8.2 kms track covering 7 stations.

Some of the stations on the Jacob Circle-Chembur line are: Mumbai Monorail Map

  • Chinchpokli
  • Mint Colony
  • Wadala Bridge
  • Acharya Atre Nagar
  • Antop Hill
  • GTB Nagar
  • Wadala
  • Bharat Petroleum
  • Fertilizer Company
  • Chembur Naka

  • The Monorail had a successful trial run in Feb, 2012. It is now planned to start its run in full swing from December 2012. The second phase of the Jacob Circle-Chembur line is planned to complete by Dec 2013. The speed of the monorail will be 32 km/hr, though the maximum speed is 80 km/hr/ The fare will range between Rs.8 to a maximum of Rs.20.

    The future planned Monorail lines are:

  • Malabar Hill to Bandra Kurla via Haji Ali Dargah
  • Thane to Bhiwandi via Kalyan
  • Chembur to Govandi via Mahul
  • Lokhandwala Complex to Kanjurmarg via Oshiwara